Good Roads Awards

Long Service Award

Good Roads will recognize employees who have given long years of service in the cause of good roads. Eligibility requirements are as follows:

  • Minimum of 30 years in the road industry employed in the municipal, provincial and/or private sectors.
  • Retired from their employment or will be retiring within one year of the Annual Conference at which the award will be given.
  • Immediately previous or current employer is a member in good standing of Good Roads.

For more information or to nominate someone, please fill out the Nomination Form and return it to Carmen Sousa.

Elaine Robinson Volunteer of the Year Award

This award has been established by the association to recognize the invaluable and outstanding contribution to the municipal sector made by our dedicated instructors and committee members who have made a significant contribution to Good Roads. Selection of the award recipient will be made by the association’s Nominating Committee based on the following criteria. The nominee must:

  • Be a current and active volunteer
  • Have served a minimum of 5 years as an active volunteer
  • Be an active and dedicated supporter of Good Roads and its mandate to represent the infrastructure interests of municipalities through advocacy, consultation, training, and the delivery of identified services.

Exclusions for nomination:

  • Officers of the current Board of Directors
  • Paid instructors

Nominations for this award have closed for this year.

The 5th Annual Municipal Paving Award and 2nd Annual Municipal Concrete Award

Every year at the Good Roads Conference we promote and recognize the successful collaboration between municipalities and hot mix asphalt producers for excellence and innovation in paving and concrete projects in Ontario. For the first time ever concrete, producers will also be recognized!

Nominations for this award have closed for this year but you can learn more about the Municipal Paving Award Here, and the Municipal Concrete Award Here.

John Niedra Better Practices Competition and Award

The John Niedra Better Practices award showcases the ingenuity of municipal employees. Good Roads holds an annual competition to recognize innovations and achievements that improve the efficiency of municipal transportation and public works services and operations.  Categories include Innovative Service Delivery, Innovative Management Practices, and Innovative Equipment.

For more information please visit

Good Roads’ Bursary

At Good Roads we know that knowledge will power the 21st century and that education is the most effective way of gaining knowledge.

We are supporting our member municipalities with a $1,500 bursary to a student who has a parent/guardian working for one of our members.

The recipient will be announced at Good Roads annual conference in April 2022 and on our website, and social media channels.

Honourary Life Membership

Awarded as a special tribute to people who have performed distinguished service in the field of roads and transportation by awarding them an Honorary Life Membership. Award recipients are nominated by the Good Roads Nominating Committee and approved by the Board of Directors.

Michael Woodcroft Award

The Michael Woodcroft Award is presented to the student of the T.J. Mahony Road School who achieves the highest average mark based on the results of both the Maintenance and Construction section examinations. 

Scott McKay Award

The Municipal Engineers Association and Good Roads present this award in honour of W. Scott McKay for his long and outstanding contribution to municipal affairs in Ontario. The award is presented to the participant achieving highest average mark on any two of the Scott McKay Municipal Technology courses.