Long Service Awards and Other Awards

Long Service Award

The Ontario Good Roads Association will recognize employees who have given long years of service in the cause of good roads. Eligibility requirements are as follows:

Minimum of 30 years in the road industry employed in the municipal, provincial and/or private sectors.
Retired from their employment or will be retiring within one year of the Annual Conference at which the award will be given.
Immediately previous or current employer is a member in good standing of Ontario Good Roads Association.
Presentations of the awards will be made at the Awards Luncheon during the OGRA Conference.

For more information, please contact Carmen Sousa.

Elaine Robinson Volunteer of the Year Award

This award has been established by the association to recognize the invaluable and outstanding contribution to the municipal sector made by our dedicated instructors and committee members who have made a significant contribution to OGRA. Selection of the award recipient will be made by the association’s Nominating Committee based on the following criteria. The nominee must:

  • Be a current and active volunteer
  • Have served a minimum of 5 years as an active volunteer
  • Be an active and dedicated supporter of OGRA and its mandate to represent the infrastructure interests of municipalities through advocacy, consultation, training, and the delivery of identified services.

Exclusions for nomination:

  • Officers of the current Board of Directors
  • Paid instructors

For Volunteer of the Year award details, please contact Janelle Warren. 

The 4th Annual Municipal Paving Award and 2nd Annual Municipal Concrete Award

Every year at the OGRA Conference we promote and recognize the successful collaboration between municipalities and hot mix asphalt producers, and for the first time ever concrete producers, for excellence and innovation in paving and concrete projects in Ontario.

You can find your applications for the Municipal Paving Award Here, and the Municipal Concrete Award Here.

Keep a project in mind and submit your application. Submissions are due November 1st, 2019. We look forward to seeing the incredible work municipalities put together!

John Niedra Better Practices Competition and Award

The John Niedra Better Practices award showcases the ingenuity of municipal employees.  OGRA holds an annual competition to recognize innovations and achievements that improve the efficiency of municipal transportation and public works services and operations.  Categories include Innovative Service Delivery, Innovative Management Practices, and Innovative Equipment.

 Civil Engineering College Proficiency Award

Established nearly 50 years ago, the College Proficiency Awards recognize the achievements of students registered in college civil engineering technology programs.  Award winners are nominated by the Engineering Department Deans of their colleges for their outstanding scholastic achievements coupled with their active contribution to the quality of campus life at the college and/or their co-op employment experience.

Honourary Life Membership

Awarded as a special tribute to people who have performed distinguished service in the field of roads and transportation by awarding them an Honorary Life Membership. Award recipients are nominated by the OGRA Nominating Committee and approved by our Board of Directors.

Michael Woodcroft Award

The Michael Woodcroft Award is presented to the student of the T.J. Mahony Road School who achieves the highest average mark based on the results of both the Maintenance and Construction section examinations. 

Scott McKay Award

The Municipal Engineers Association and the Ontario Good Roads Association present this award in honour of W. Scott McKay for his long and outstanding contribution to municipal affairs in Ontario. The award is presented to the participant achieving highest average mark on any two of the Scott McKay Municipal Technology courses.